School of Economic Sciences

Jacques de Jong

Jacques de Jongh is a development economist and holds a PhD in Economics. He is a senior lecturer in the School of Economic Sciences at the Vanderbijlpark campus where he lectures at both postgraduate and undergraduate levels. His teaching experience has extended across numerous fields including microeconomics, macroeconomics, fiscal and monetary policy, as well as research methodology in economics.

Carli Bezuidenhout

Carli Bezuidenhout is a senior lecturer in the School of Economics at the North-West University (Potchefstroom Campus). She lectures undergraduate courses in the degrees BCom Economics as well as BCom International Trade. She has also gained some years of practical experience in economic consulting before joining the University.


Tlhalitshi Volition Montshiwa

Tlhalitshi Volition Monsthiwa holds a PhD in Statistics. He has published papers on missing data imputation, efficiency of count data models, and on questionnaire development and evaluation. Dr Montshiwa is supervising both Masters and PhD students and his area of interest is on multivariate techniques with application to teaching and learning practices. He has contributed to two international conferences: ICESS 2017 and ICEBSS 2018. Dr Montshiwas is a recipient of the NWU Emerging Teaching Excellence Award (ETEA) for the year 2017-2018.

André Heymans

I work primarily in the financial field pertaining to investment decisions and more specifically the management of financial portfolios. This research addresses a variety of issues of which the most important include: the effectiveness of the market, uncertainty in asset prices, the impact of different world markets on each other as well as how these factors influence investors’ asset portfolios.

Waldo Krugell

Waldo Krugell is a Professor in Economics at the North-West University’s Potchefstroom Campus.  He holds a M.Sc in Economics from the University of Warwick and a Ph.D on the topic of the geographical economy of South Africa from North-West University’s Potchefstroom Campus.