Paulo par excellence

Very few eyebrows lifted on Wednesday, 4 October when Vernon Paulo, the NWU’s ace hooker, was crowned as the Player of the Year by the NWU Rugby Institute.

Paulo was rewarded with the Johan Claassen Trophy for his outstanding play in the Varsity Cup, and was exceptional throughout the series. Not only did he score the most tries in the competition – definitely a rare occurrence for a tight forward – but his work ethic and leadership were also some of the main features in the course of the competition.

Tino Swanepoel was named the Varsity Cup Player of the Year and supporters will remember the wonderful tries by this brilliantly versatile player during the competition for a long time. His two tries in the final against Ikeys were ultimately crucial to the victorious NWU Eagles.

Isrome Phatudi was rewarded with the Piet Malan Trophy as Back of the Year, and Sampie Swiegers received the Chairperson’s Trophy as Forward of the Year.

The Directors’ Trophy for the player who had made the most progress went to Zinedine Robinson, and Theuns Pretorius was named the Dux Player of the Year. This trophy is awarded to the player who performs well on the rugby field and academically.

It was an outstanding year for the Rugby Institute, with the Varsity Cup team winning the competition of the same name, the Young Guns winning their competition, and both the men’s and women’s 7s teams winning their respective USSA tournaments.

Vernon Paulo

Prof Daryl Balia, Potchefstroom Campus: Deputy Vice-Chancellor with Vernon Paulo.


Submitted on Wed, 10/11/2023 - 10:57