North-West University recognises its trailblazer alumni

The alumni of the North-West University (NWU) continuously shine in their respective fields of expertise, both nationally and internationally. The NWU recognised ten of these remarkable career professionals during the university’s prestigious Alumni Awards of Excellence event in Pretoria on 9 November.

These awards acknowledge exceptional alumni who are making impactful contributions in their careers and to society.

The honour roll for this year’s awards includes ten recipients from all spheres of society. Among them are an impactful marketing expert, a legendary researcher, a legislative transformer, an isiNdebele cultural activist, an internationally respected clinical and sport psychologist, an art historian and artist, a visionary innovator in sustainable agriculture, and a young trailblazer and human resources management champion.

The Lifetime Achievement Award went to Prof Dan Kgwadi, the NWU’s former principal and vice-chancellor. This award was given posthumously in recognition of Prof Kgwadi’s impactful and decisive leadership that placed the NWU firmly on its transformation journey. Investigative journalist Susan Cilliers received a special award for her contributions to society.

Alumni Award recipients

  • Amé Bell, Arts and Culture Award
  • Dr Monicca Bhuda, Education Award
  • Susan Cilliers, Special Award
  • Prof Kobus Eloff, Research Award
  • Louis-Gillis Janse van Rensburg, Community Involvement Award
  • Dr Dumisani Jantjies, Public Service Award
  • Prof Ntate Dan Kgwadi, Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Prof Pieter Kruger, Sport Award
  • Dr Alistair Mokoena, Business Leadership Award
  • Prof Musawenkosi Donia Saurombe, Young Alumnus Award

The coveted NWU Alumni Awards were presented to deserving alumni for the eighth time. Previous recipients include a who’s who of prominent and respected South Africans such as Prof Anis Karodia, Judge Yvonne Mokgoro, Prof Bismark Tyobeka, Adv Andy Mothibi, Prof Pieter Stoker, Mr FW de Klerk, Judge Frans Kgomo, Prof Fika Janse van Rensburg and Prof TT Cloete, among others.

Mr Bert Sorgdrager, chairman of the NWU Council and president of Convocation, says the Alumni Awards of Excellence is recognition for the recipients’ exceptional contributions in their fields. “I am especially proud and positive about the future when I see some of the young recipients here.”

According to Prof Bismark Tyobeka, principal and vice-chancellor, the NWU is a partnership among various stakeholders to build a community and a culture. “The success of this university is measured by the contributions of alumni in creating a better society.”

For more information, full details of every recipient and photos, visit:


The recipients of the NWU’s 2023 Alumni Awards of Excellence are Prof Kobus Eloff, Dr Dumisani Jantjies, Chris Nell (on behalf of Louis-Gillis Janse van Rensburg), Dr Monicca Bhuda, Susan Cilliers, Prof Musawenkosi Donia Saurombe, Amé Bell, Ofentse Kgwadi (on behalf of Prof Ntate Dan Kgwadi) and Dr Alistair Mokoena. At the back are Prof Pieter Kruger and Phenyo Kgwadi (on behalf of Prof Ntate Dan Kgwadi).

Submitted on Fri, 11/10/2023 - 06:34