Nominate the cream of the crop of NWU alumni

The North-West University (NWU) will again celebrate the remarkable achievements of its outstanding alumni during the seventh biennial Alumni Excellence Awards ceremony, which is set to take place in October this year.

It is the ideal opportunity for NWU alumni, staff and all stakeholders to nominate deserving alumni from all walks of life for these awards. Nominations should be submitted speedily, however, as time is running out and submissions close on 10 June.

The biennial awards give public recognition for exemplary contributions to society and to alumni who demonstrate an ongoing commitment to the NWU. These alumni are the real torchbearers in our communities, locally and abroad, and never fail to showcase the NWU as a globally recognised university.

The honour roll of previous recipients includes prominent and revered figures from all spheres of South African and international society. These illustrious recipients include, among others, Prof TT Cloete, Judge Frans Kgomo, Prof Anis Karodia, Deon Meyer, Judge Bess Nkabinde, Dr Bismark Tyobeka, Prof Tjaart van der Walt and Sunette Viljoen.

The university is calling for nominations in nine categories, namely arts and culture, business leadership, community involvement, education, public service, research and sport, and for the Young Alumnus Award and Lifetime Achievement Award. 

Prof Dan Kgwadi, vice-chancellor, says the achievements of alumni are just one of the ways of showcasing the excellence of the NWU. “We are privileged to boast such a distinguished stakeholder group who continuously strives to make a positive impact in the world.”

Nominations can be submitted electronically at  For more information, phone Nicolize van der Walt at 018 285 2594 or email

Submitted by BELINDA BANTHAM on Wed, 05/12/2021 - 09:02