NWU applauds best-of-the best lecturers

Belinda Bantham -- Fri, 03/15/2019 - 09:01

NWU applauds best-of-the-best lecturers

The North-West University (NWU) celebrated its star lecturers during its Institutional Teaching Excellence Awards ceremony (ITEA). This annual event took place on 14 March at the Snowflake venue in Potchefstroom.

Prof Juaneé Cilliers of the Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences and Prof Alfred Brunsdon of the Faculty of Theology walked away with the top awards, the coveted Distinguished Teaching Excellence Awards (DTEA).

Juaneé is the Head of the Urban and Regional Planning group at the NWU, as well as programme leader of research programme 7 for Sustainable Development, Planning and Implementation in the Unit for Environmental Sciences and Management. She is well known as the host of a weekly environmental radio programme, Omgewingspraatjies, on Radio Sonder Grense.

Alfred is Associate Professor, subject chair and subject programme leader in Practical Theology at the School of Christian Ministry and Leadership.  His teaching philosophy rests mainly on the belief that the lecturer is responsible for creating a learning environment that is meaningful for the student in the open distance learning environment.

The awards are made to show appreciation to lecturers for their commitment and dedication to student success and also to encourage academics to develop in the field of teaching and learning as university teachers.

Awards were presented in three categories, namely the Emerging Teaching Excellence Award (ETEA), the Teaching Excellence Award (TEA) and the Distinguished Teaching Excellence Award (DTEA). This is the fifth year that the awards have been given in these categories.

Thirty-six academics received awards. The Faculty of Health Sciences produced the most winners overall with eight awards, followed by the Faculty of Economic and Management Sciences and the Faculty of Humanities with seven awards each.

What the different categories are about

The ETEA rewards emerging lecturers for excellent teaching. It recognises lecturers who display a long-term vision for their professional and career development by means of exceptional and proven achievement towards innovation in teaching and learning in their field.

The TEA is awarded to established lecturers who have exceptional and proven achievements in teaching excellence. They use innovative approaches to facilitate learning that inspires and challenges students.

The DTEA is a commendation within the TEA category. It endorses excellence and commends distinguished scholars for leadership and achievement in the scholarship of teaching and learning.

Participants in the awards must comply with at least 80% of the criteria in the individual categories. They must submit a reflective portfolio as evidence of their teaching and learning activities and teaching philosophy. There is also observation of at least two learning opportunities, one of which is unannounced.

TEA Award participants are also expected to make presentations at an annual campus or faculty colloquium on teaching and learning.

The reflective portfolios of DTEA winners are moderated internally and externally.

And the winners are…


Distinguished Teaching Excellence Awards


Prof Alfred Brunsdon, Faculty of Theology

Prof Juaneé Cilliers, Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences


Teaching Excellence Awards

Dr Johan Bosman, Engineering

Prof Alfred Brunsdon, Theology

Dr Joshua Chukwuere, Economic and Management Sciences

Prof Juaneé Cilliers, Natural and Agricultural Sciences

Prof Ben Coetzee, Health Sciences

Dr Hanli de Beer, Health Sciences

Prof Elvis Fosso-Kankeu, Engineering

Dr Anél Gildenhuys, Law

Dr Rianda Joubert, Health Sciences

Prof Henk Kloppers, Law

Dr Jan-Hendrik Kruger, Engineering

Mr Francois Minnie, Education

Dr Clarise Mostert, Economic and Management Sciences

Ms Irene Muller, Education

Dr Marinda Neethling, Education

Ms Marie Preston, Economic and Management Sciences

Ms Michelle Schoeman, Law

Dr Elzahne Simeon, Health Sciences

Dr Elmien Truter, Health Sciences

Dr Marie Ubbink, Health Sciences

Prof Elize van Eeden, Humanities

Dr Liandi van den Berg, Economic and Management Sciences

Mr Corne van der Merwe, Health Sciences

Dr Willem van Niekerk, Engineering

Ms Suretha van Wyk, Economic and Management Sciences

Dr Tertia van Zyl, Health Sciences


Emerging Teaching Excellence Awards

Mr Hermann Bosch, Education

Ms Nina Brink, Humanities

Mr Koos de Villiers, Humanities

Dr Rita Klonaridis, Economic and Management Sciences

Dr Bruno Letarte, Natural and Agricultural Sciences

Dr Heleneze Lues, Economic and Management Sciences

Mr Bright Molale, Humanities

Dr Mokgadi Molope, Humanities

Mr Phil Pretorius, Humanities

Mr Ninan Samuel, Humanities


This year’s recipients of the NWU’s Distinguished Teaching Awards are Prof Juaneé Cilliers and Prof Alfred Brunsdon. They were honoured during the NWU’s Institutional Teaching Excellence Awards ceremony.

Enquiries:                     Willie du Plessis: 082 590 0692 Corporate Communication, NWU

  Date:                            15 March 2019