Six NWU staff members receive PhDs

Belinda Bantham -- Thu, 08/01/2019 - 10:25

Six NWU staff members receive PhDs

According to the National Development Plan (NDP), 75% of academic staff at universities should have PhDs by 2030. Currently, only about 44% of permanent instructional and research academics in South Africa hold PhDs.

The North-West University (NWU) is working hard towards this goal, and during the recent winter graduation ceremony on its campus in Mahikeng, four female and two male academic staff members received doctoral degrees.

Mpho Tsheolo, Pontsho Mokone, Innocentia Matlawe, Moeti Makhele, Kolentiono Mpeta and Deborah Mokgojwa received their PhDs on 26 July 2019.

A total of 24 master’s degrees and 13 PhDs were awarded during the event.

Prof Marilyn Setlalentoa, deputy vice-chancellor of the campus, congratulated all the recipients.

“You worked very hard towards this achievement, and we wish you all the best on your future endeavours.”

Prof Setlalentoa also expressed how proud the NWU is of its academic staff members furthering their academic careers. “Your perseverance and dedication has paid off. We celebrate this not only as your achievement, but also as the achievement of the entire NWU,” she added.

The Minister of Higher Education and Training launched the University Staff Doctoral Programme (USDP) under the University Capacity Development Programme (UCDP) in July 2017 to help achieve the NDP targets, specifically through increasing the number of university academics who hold doctoral degrees.

 Here are members of the University Management Committee and staff members who received their PhDs during the recent winter graduation ceremony on the NWU’s campus in Mahikeng.