The new face of the NWU Convocation

Annette Willemse -- Tue, 12/09/2014 - 10:51

The new face of the NWU Convocation

Dr Sammy Thekiso was elected president of the NWU Convocation at the triennial general meeting recently held at the Quest Conference Estate in Vanderbijlpark. He follows in the footsteps of Adv Jan Henning, who resigned due to ill health.

The members of the NWU Convocation are, at the back from left Mr H. Schalekamp, Mr A. Sorgdrager, Mr W. Human and
Mr N. Mongale.  In front are from left Dr D Hermann, Dr S Thekiso, Prof M Stander and Adv M Kruger

A new executive committee for the Convocation was also elected:

President:                           Dr Sammy Thekiso (psychologist, Potchefstroom)

Vice-President:                  Dr Dirk Hermann (chief executive officer: Solidarity)

Bursar:                               Prof Marius Stander (psychologist and lecturer, Vaal Triangle Campus)

Other members:                 Mr Werner Human (attorney, Hurter Spies Inc, Centurion)

                                           Adv Marlize Kruger (legal consultant and facilitator, Potchefstroom)

                                            Mr Nelson Mongale (special advisor on industrial strategy, Gabarona
                                            Engineering Consulting, Vanderbijlpark)

                                            Mr Albert Sorgdrager (group legal counsel for litigation and disputes,
                                            Nedbank, Johannesburg)

                                            Mr Henk Schalekamp (chairperson of Solidarity Investment Company,

The next triennial general meeting will be held in 2017.

Convocation in a nutshell

The main function of the Convocation is to represent the views of the alumni to Council, to encourage cooperation among alumni and to elect members into Council. In promoting our values, good governance, support and innovation, the Convocation develops mutually beneficial relationships between the university and its alumni.

Every graduate and diplomate of the university – or its predecessors and current full-time, permanent staff members may become a member of the Convocation. You have to apply for membership and pay the prescribed fee (R50) for lifelong membership. More information is available on the application form. Contact Ms Izette Schouwstra on (018) 285 2594 or

The convocation is represented by four members in the NWU Council. If you are a member of the Convocation, you can be nominated and elected as a Council member. Only members of the Convocation may vote in this election.

NWU Vaal Alumni Office

If you are a graduate or diplomate of the Vaal Triangle Campus of the North-West University, please contact Ms Alwine Naudé on (016) 910 3250 or